My Inspirations

I’ve been under the weather lately, both physically and mentally. It’s challenged me on many levels and put me through a rough time. I was at the brink of giving up, especially when I let so many negativity get to me and it all sort of started from my unprecedented meltdown on the day of my birthday party. I know people forget things but I’m not the kind of person that forgets easily. I was naive to think things have gotten better because it obviously hasn’t. I tried to ward these thoughts off but sometimes it’s easier said than done. I’m tired of feeling like a backup plan and I think my subconscious needs more positive energy than usual, because frankly I’m tired of being cranky so it has to end right now.

Today I found inspiration in the form of a renowned photographer, Chase Jarvis. He’s one of the biggest names in commercial photography right now for being a visionary of our time. Listening to him talk puts me back on track, one of the most memorable quotes from his interview was:

“If you try pleasing everybody, you end up pleasing nobody. Including yourself”

He is absolutely right. There’s nothing worse than trying to please everybody else while compromising your principle and belief. I’ve hurt myself too many times in the past trying to be as accommodating as I possibly could, does it do me any good? No! I was taken granted for, shoved aside when I’m not longer ‘useful’, and worse, I keep letting people do this to me. But no, it has ended. I’m going to be a maker of things, as Chase repeatedly mentioned in the interview, I want to make things happen for myself and I will not let unnecessary feelings get into the way.

One of my biggest steps today? Creating my online photography portfolio. I’ve been having this idea in my mind for a while and I’m glad I’ve finally put it together. It’s still a work-in-progress as I have more things to be added but it’s looking pretty cool at the moment. Visit the website here.

2 thoughts on “My Inspirations

  1. I’m happy that you took that first step! You decided to take care of your needs, and you will be greatly rewarded for it. If your not happy, you have no happiness to give. Good Luck! I know you will do great!

    • Thank you Jay! I totally agree with what you’re saying and indeed after setting those negative thoughts aside I feel refreshed, all geared up for great things. Thank you again šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

