Niagara Falls: American and Bridal Veil Falls

If you’ve not been on any of the tours offered in Niagara Falls, then you’ve not been there at all. The experience of getting up close and personal with those ferocious waterfalls is the whole reason we drove all the way here – and yes I was expecting free shower. Among the tours we went on the Maid of the Mist boat tour, which starts from the calmer side of Niagara River near the Rainbow Bridge, then takes passengers past American and Bridal Veil Falls, where you’ll see another tour called ‘Cave of the Winds’, all the way into the curve of Horseshoe Falls or better known as Canadian Falls for a dense mist of spray.

I have to be honest, I’m not a swimmer at all and I’ve never liked anything involving water but when I saw the falls all my fears seem to subside to one word – excitement. I forgot all my fears, sport those ugly blue poncho and took mad loads of photos even though my camera was soaked wet by the end of the tour. But yeah, it was mad fun! I would highly recommend this tour if you want to see the falls up close without getting too wet. From what I’ve gathered Cave of the Winds offers a full body shower because you’re standing literally, under the falls as they pour. I’m not a big fan of getting too drenched so Maid of the Mist is the way to go!

Here are some snapshots:

This is where we board the Maid of the Mist

Little Maid

Uncle Sam

Those ponchos aren't flattering

I'm on a boat!

Cave of the Winds

Sailing past American Falls

Approaching Canadian Falls

That'll be us in a moment

Power generator

Niagara Falls isn’t just a pretty face, in fact its enormous energy has long been recognized as a powerful source of power capable of supporting up to 1.92 million homes. That’s a LOT of energy. Once we’ve passed by the American and Bridal Veil Falls we went straight into the highlight of the tour – getting absolutely soaked under the grace of Horseshoe Falls.

Next up – to the Horseshoe Falls!

One thought on “Niagara Falls: American and Bridal Veil Falls

  1. Pingback: Niagara Falls: Complete Guide « I Meant To Keep It Simple

Leave a Reply

