Dreams Do Come True



Benjamin Reed is a celebrity photographer. He went from working a 9-5 job in the finance industry, had a dream of becoming an investment banker so he could live to work and make money, to a renowned photographer. His perception on the idea of living changed when he visited Ireland, where people are much laid back and worked to live. Ben had an idea of living a life where he could travel across the world while experiencing different things and still making a living. He decided to quit his job and became a full time photographer, started from scratch by taking internships with various publishing companies and renowned firms..today he’s living his dream as a photographer. According to him, he would have died happily today because he’s at the pinnacle of his life. He has experienced so much more as a photographer than when he was working a steady desk job.

From IB to photographer, wow nobody would have seen that coming but that’s exactly how unpredictable life is. You make choices, live it and you’ll be rewarded. How many times have we told ourselves that we cannot do something because we’re going to fail anyway and instead stayed in our comfort zone? That is indeed the attitude that prevented us from achieving great things. I grew up in an environment where prestige is based on how much money you can make so naturally we were discourage to have dreams of our own and lived for money instead. But how many people have actually lead a fulfilling life? When I decided to venture into photography and audio recording I knew that it’s going to be a long and winding road and honestly I don’t know if that’s my niche either but that didn’t stop me from trying. I’ve invested most of my hard earned cash into them and never regretted one bit. I also knew immediately that there are people who are anticipating for my fall because I show no interest in what they perceived as more important issues in life. Yes it’s not easy to make a living out of any of these but even if I have to live frugally I would never ever give up any of my passion. I want to work to live, put leisure above everything else because otherwise life would be too dull and meaningless.

There’s absolutely nothing wrong with doing what you like, and dreams, they do come true as long as you’ve taken the first step. So what if it doesn’t work out? Move on and try something else. It doesn’t matter where you ended, what’s more important is the journey of self discovery.

Leave a Reply

