Milwaukee In Pictures

Summerfest marks my fourth visit to Milwaukee and this time round I came with a mission to photograph Milwaukee’s finest architectural landmark – the Milwaukee Art Museum which was designed by world renowned Spanish architect Santiago Calatrava. When I first visited the MAM back in early 2010, I was immediately blown away by the unique design of this building – my first thought? did a bloody spaceship just landed in Milwaukee? It is clearly a great departure from a ton of generic skyscrapers and buildings that I’ve seen for the past 20 years so yes I am AMAZED. I absolutely love the wing-like brise soleil design and the coolest part about it? It opens up in the day to a wingspan of 217 feet (as pictured) and folds up at night.

Almost a year and a half later, I find myself at the exact same spot gazing at Calatrava’s impressive creation with awe and disbelief. The biggest difference is that being Summer the sky is breathtakingly beautiful and I’m well equipped with a much powerful camera. I’m glad I made it back here with a much seasoned eye for photography.

Now enough talking, here are some of my favorite shots.

Milwaukee Art Museum

Milwaukee Art Museum

Milwaukee Art Museum

Milwaukee Art Museum

Milwaukee Art Museum

If you think that’s amazing, wait till you see what’s inside. The reception area is known as the Quadracci Pavilion, which is open to public most of the time unless there are special occasions such as weddings – which we happen to run into one, otherwise I could have gotten a better picture of the entire space.

Milwaukee Art Museum

Milwaukee Art Museum

Milwaukee Art Museum

If you’re not nearly as satisfied, head to my Flickr for more pictures of the MAM. I’ve included photos that I’ve taken in the past using my Panasonic point-and-shoot so it would be fun to do some comparison there. If you ever visit Milwaukee in your lifetime, don’t forget to swing by the Milwaukee Art Museum!

Leave a Reply

