Routine

I have an issue with my oxymoron-like attitude. It spurs a lot of unnecessary problems for me to ponder upon – namely my job.

I like my job, but I don’t love it. I don’t hate it either because it pays well and my colleagues are decent. BUT there’s a problem, I don’t get the kick out of it as much as I first started – I don’t get to make money rain on me, dodge bullets, devise world domination plans, or jump off a plane (ignore my wildest imagination), or getting involved in anything remotely exciting at all, nada. So are the majority of the jobs out there today and my guess is a lot of people are thinking the same things too. Sadly sometimes I can’t help but wished for otherwise.

As you can probably tell I’m not a big fan of routine and I’ve mentioned countless times just how mundane my life has become with work and all, but deep down I do believe that having a fixed routine yields greater benefit than one can possibly imagine. Having a routine doesn’t necessarily mean your life should be any less exciting, it essentially keeps you away from distractions that could hinder you from reaching your long term goals ie. lose 10 pounds in 2 months, get promoted or pay off your debts in 6 months. Nothing will change miraculously overnight, it takes effort, discipline and whole lot of  sacrifice. Sure, I always think that if I hadn’t worked full time, I will have more time in the day but chances are I will spend most of them sleeping in, watching TV shows and in the end, have little to no time to do what I planned for the entire day. Instead, with a fixed work schedule, I feel pressured to catch up with my readings, music production and social activities once I get out of work.

Right now whenever I missed out on my routine ie. taking leave of absence, missing a workout, or spend on things I don’t need, I end up feeling really horrible about myself because I can’t believe how irresponsible and unmotivated I’ve become! 6 months ago I would have jumped at an opportunity for any job interview on campus. I applied to many departments with hopes to find a comfortable job that would help me pay my bills but when I finally got it I’m not doing nearly as well as I should have because I was expecting a lot more from the job and myself.

Unfortunately there’s no such thing as a perfect job, only the perfect attitude. I can’t change the nature of the job, but I can certainly change how I feel about it. Some things are too good to be true, and when I think about it, this job opportunity was one of them. I will not disappoint – I must make the best of it and you betcha I can keep my word this time.

I must say I was inspired to write about this post when I stumbled across this blog called Tiny Budhha. It offers very mindful advices about life and living and these are some of my favorite articles:

http://tinybuddha.com/blog/6-ways-to-find-happiness-at-work/
http://tinybuddha.com/blog/50-things-to-love-about-life-that-are-free/

To dream of the person you would like to be is to waste the person you are. – Unknown

Leave a Reply

